Zoning Board of Appeals

The Board hears and decides all appeals from decisions of the Building Inspector, requests for variances and petitions for certain types of special permits.  The Zoning Board of Appeals will accept applications for an Appeal, a Variance or a Special Permit only after a determination has been made by the Building Department.

All of the records for the Zoning Board of Appeals are located in the Law Department.  A complete file of all zoning cases presented to the Board is maintained in the office along with the minutes of all meetings.

Copies of the Zoning Board of Appeals records are available for review Monday-Friday, between the hours of 8:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m., in the Law Department.

Application packets containing requirements for filing petitions with the Zoning Board of Appeals are available at the Zoning Board of Appeals Office.

The Zoning Board of Appeals is a five-member board, which is made up of 5 full members and 5 associate members.  The members are appointed by the Mayor and confirmed by the City Council to 5 year staggered terms. 

Board Members

Name Title
Barbara Rando Chair
Michael J. Cotton Vice Chair
Mark A. Hickernell Clerk
John Sergi Member
Glenna Gelineau Member
Edward McCarthy Associate Member
Sarah Hankins Associate Member
Oscar LeBlanc Associate Member
Marc Rudnick Associate Member
Michael Squillante Associate Member