

## City of Waltham

COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTS

## ZONING BOARD OF APPEALS

## **LEGAL NOTICE**

DATE FILED: March 29, 2016

THE ZONING BOARD OF APPEALS OF THE CITY OF WALTHAM WILL HOLD A PUBLIC HEARING IN THE GOVERNMENT CENTER, 119 SCHOOL STREET, WALTHAM, MA ON MAY 10, 2016 AT 7:00 P.M. ON THE FOLLOWING:

Case #: 2016-09. Petitioner: Thermo Fisher Scientific. Owner: TFS LLC. Nature of **Application/Petition:** Application for signage variance. **Subject Matter:** The Petitioner seeks a variance from §6.52 of the Zoning Ordinances to allow for its proposed signage package to include two secondary signs exceeding the size limitation of 18 square feet each in support of its new headquarters building at the property. Location and Zoning District: 168 Third Avenue; Commercial Zoning District. **Provisions of Zoning Ordinance** Involved: Section 6.52 Secondary Signs. Specific Relief Sought: §6.52 establishes a size limit of 18 Square feet. Due to the unique location of the new headquarters building two (2) secondary signs are required. Each sign is 23 feet 4 inches wide by 5 feet high totaling 116.5 square feet each. These signs are to be located approximately 98 feet above grade. Sign one will be on the upper North Façade and visible to Southbound traffic on Route 128/95 and from Totten Pond Road. Sign two will be on the upper South Facade and visible to northbound traffic of Route 128/95. The signs are internally lit LED and are identical in appearance to the existing signage located at 81 Wyman. The variance request and the design takes into account that no more than one sign will be visible to a passerby at any one time. However, if Thermo Fisher were to be denied the secondary signs it is likely that visitors would miss the site due to its unique location on Third Avenue thus creating a hardship from which Thermo Fisher seeks relief. Further information and plans concerning this case may be viewed at the Zoning Board of Appeals' Office, 119 School Street, Waltham, Massachusetts 02451; Hours: Monday - Friday 8:30-4:30. **MEMBERS:** Chair Barbara Rando, Michael Cotton, Mark Hickernell, John Sergi, Glenna **ASSOCIATE MEMBERS:** Edward McCarthy, Oscar LeBlanc, Marc Rudnick, Michael Squillante, Sarah Hankins.