Energy Action Committee

The Waltham Energy Action Committee (WEAC) was formed by the Mayor of Waltham to advise and assist the City in developing priorities, policies and programs focused on cost effective energy use.  WEAC is exploring efficiency improvements for housing, municipal buildings, expanded renewable energy use in public and private buildings, energy efficiency in public education, transportation systems, and other uses of energy in the City. 

To achieve this, the Committee works closely with the Mayor, City Council, City departments, residents, businesses, institutions, and other organizations, agencies and programs in the City that can assist with our goals of energy efficiency, energy cost reduction, and the reduction of greenhouse gases generated in Waltham.

The Waltham Energy Action Committee will provide a central source of information regarding energy efficiency initiatives in the municipal sector, including past accomplishments, current, and future programs.

If you have questions, would like to volunteer, or wish to be placed on our email list, please email WEAC at

Staff Contacts

Name Phone
Eileen Zubrowski (781) 314-3391

Committee Members

Name Title
Melissa Downes Committee Co-Chair, Master of Liberal Arts in Extension Studies, Sustainability and Environmental Management, Harvard University. Waltham resident.
Amy Gortler Waltham Resident
Beth MacBlane Master of Science in Environmental Studies, Environmental Educator and Community Organizer, Waltham resident
Jim Mniece
Kathy Randel Committee Co-Chair, university administrator, Waltham resident.
Stephen F. Rourke Waltham City Councilor