Waltham City Council Minutes of the Special Meeting of November 25, 2019

President Pro Tem Logan called the meeting to order at 6:30pm.

Call of the Roll:

City Council

Present: Councillors Darcy, Fowler, Harris, LaCava, LeBlanc, Diane, LeBlanc, Randy, Logan,

Mackin, McLaughlin, McMenimen, Nabulime, Romard, Stanley and Vidal.

Absent: Brasco.

The City Clerk recited the Council Prayer followed by President Pro Tem Logan leading all present in the Pledge of Allegiance. Councillor Diane LeBlanc asked for a moment of silence for all our military that have served; past and present.

The City Clerk read Rule 86.

The first public hearing was to set the classification and the residential factor to set the tax levy for the fiscal year 2020.

Mr. Frank Craig, Assessor for the City of Waltham, spoke on the matters relating to tonight's meeting. He handed out a couple different attachments that may be helpful for the tax levy discussion. He explained numbers commercial and residential that are all based on sales from 2018. Guy Micalizzi, 41 Melody Lane, Waltham, spoke in opposition to the tax information proposed for fiscal year 2020. With no one else in support and no one else in opposition and no one in a neutral position of the matter, President Pro Tem Logan closed this portion of the public hearing and opened the hearing to questions from Councillors. Councillors Diane LeBlanc, Randy LeBlanc, Mackin, Romard, McMenimen, Vidal, Stanley, Harris, LaCava, McLaughlin, Nabulime all spoke on the matter. Councillor McMenimen moved to approve the CPC–FY2020 Surcharge Allocation of \$3,000,000. Roll call required.

In favor: Darcy, Fowler, Harris, LeBlanc, Diane, LeBlanc, Randy, Mackin, McLaughlin, McMenimen, Nabulime, Romard, Stanley, Vidal and Logan.

Opposed: LaCava and Romard.

Absent: Brasco.

The matter was approved 12-2-1.

Councillor McMenimen moved to approve the CPC –FY2019 State Preservation Match Allocation of \$423,407. On the motion Councillor LaCava asked about the percentage of the match from the State. On the motion, roll call required.

In favor: Darcy, Fowler, Harris, LaCava, LeBlanc, Diane, LeBlanc, Randy, Mackin, McLaughlin, McMenimen, Nabulime, Stanley, Vidal and Logan

Opposed: Romard.

Absent: Brasco.

The matter was approved 13-1-1.

Councillor McMenimen moved to approve the appropriation of the overlay surplus for \$1,167,347.17. Roll call required.

In favor: Darcy, Fowler, Harris, LeBlanc, Diane. LeBlanc, Randy, Logan, Mackin, McLaughlin, McMenimen, Nabulime, Stanley, Vidal,

Opposed: LaCava and Romard.

Absent: Brasco.

The matter was approved 12-2-1.

Councillor McMenimen moved to approve the Appropriation of Sewer Retained Earnings of \$1,000,000.00. Roll call required.

In favor: Darcy, Fowler, Harris, LaCava, LeBlanc, Diane, LeBlanc, Randy, Mackin, McLaughlin, McMenimen, Nabulime, Romard, Stanley, Vidal and Logan.

Opposed: None. Absent: Brasco.

The matter was approved 14-0-1.

Councillor McMenimen moved to approve the FY2020 Residential Exemption Percentage at 35%. On the motion Councillor Nabulime asked for an explanation of the Order. Councillor Nabulime moved to hear from an off Council member. The motion was adopted and the matter was approved. Assessor Frank Craig answered questions regarding the origin of the calculations from Councillor Nabulime. Councillor Randy LeBlanc spoke on the matter. Roll call required.

In favor: Darcy, Fowler, Harris, LaCava, LeBlanc, Diane, LeBlanc, Randy, Mackin, McLaughlin, McMenimen, Romard, Stanley, Vidal and Logan.

Opposed: Nabulime.

Absent: Brasco.

The matter was approved 13-1-1.

Councillor McMenimen moved to approve the FY2020 Residential Factor of 62.2584 Roll call required.

In favor: Darcy, Fowler, Harris, LaCava, LeBlanc, Diane, LeBlanc, Randy, Mackin, McLaughlin, McMenimen, Romard, Stanley, Vidal and Logan.

Opposed: Nabulime.

Absent: Brasco.

The matter was approved 13-1-1.

Councillor McLaughlin moved to adjourn. President Pro Tem Logan declared the meeting adjourned at 8:12 p.m.

Respectfully submitted by:

Kara Wilson

Executive Assistant of the City Clerk

December 5, 2019

Approved by the City Council: