Waltham City Council Minutes of the Special Meeting of November 27, 2023

President McMenimen called the meeting to order at 6:30 p.m.

Present: Councillors Bradley-MacArthur, Darcy, Dunn, Durkee, Harris, Katz, LaCava, LaFauci LeBlanc, O'Brien, Paz, Stanley, Vidal and President McMenimen.

Absent: McLaughlin.

City Clerk Vizard recited the Council Prayer followed by President McMenimen leading all present in the Pledge of Allegiance. Councillor Durkee asked for a moment of silence for all military that have served past and present.

President McMenimen explained that the special meeting of the City Council would be held in accordance with City Council Rule 87 as well as MGL CH.40 S56 and explained the agenda.

Assessor, Frank Craig, Chair of the Board of Assessors spoke on the tax levy. Mr. Craig made reference to charts and graphs in a presentation that had been sent to the Councillors. With no one else in support, no one in opposition and no one in a neutral position of the petition President McMenimen closed that part of the public hearing and opened up the hearing to questions from Councillors. Councillors Durkee, Vidal, LeBlanc, LaFauci, Darcy, Bradley-MacArthur and Paz asked questions. Mr. Craig answered each one giving example, and referring to the handouts Councillors were given, he gave detailed descriptions of the tax reduction in the City and the residential exemption rules. Councillor LaCava thanked Mr. Craig for his presentation. With no further questions President McMenimen closed the public meeting.

Councillor LaCava moved approval of the Community Preservation Act – FY2024 surcharge allocation for \$3,900,000.00. Roll call required.

In favor: Bradley-MacArthur, Darcy, Dunn, Durkee, Harris, Katz, LaCava, LaFauci, LeBlanc, O'Brien. Paz, Stanley, Vidal and McMenimen.

Opposed: None.

Absent: McLaughlin.

The motion was approved 14-0-1.

Councillor LaCava moved approval of the Community Preservation Act – FY2023 state match allocation for \$780,352.00. Roll call required.

In favor: Bradley-MacArthur, Darcy, Dunn, Durkee, Harris, Katz, LaCava, LaFauci, LeBlanc, O'Brien. Paz, Stanley, Vidal and McMenimen.

Opposed: None.

Absent: McLaughlin.

The motion was approved 14-0-1.

Councillor LaCava moved approval of the Community Preservation Act – FY2023 Unallocated reserve allocation for \$550,907.00. Roll call required.

In favor: Bradley-MacArthur, Darcy, Dunn, Durkee, Harris, Katz, LaCava, LaFauci, LeBlanc,

O'Brien. Paz, Stanley, Vidal and McMenimen.

Opposed: None. Absent: McLaughlin.

The motion was approved 14-0-1.

Councillor LaCava moved approval of the FY2024 Residential Exemption Percentage 35%.

Roll call required.

In favor: Bradley-MacArthur, Darcy, Dunn, Durkee, Harris, Katz, LaCava, LaFauci, LeBlanc,

O'Brien. Paz, Stanley, Vidal and McMenimen.

Opposed: None. Absent: McLaughlin.

The motion was approved 14-0-1.

Councillor LaCava moved approval of the FY2023 Residential Factor 59.5468.

Roll call required.

In favor: Bradley-MacArthur, Darcy, Dunn, Durkee, Harris, Katz, LaCava, LaFauci, LeBlanc,

O'Brien. Paz, Stanley, Vidal and McMenimen.

Opposed: None.
Absent: McLaughlin.

The motion was approved 14-0-1.

President McMenimen thanked the Councillors and the Assessor's office.

With no further matters Councillor LaCava moved to adjourn. The motion was approved by a voice vote. President McMenimen declared the meeting adjourned at 7:40 P.M.

Respectfully submitted by:

Cathy Magliarditi

Executive Assistant to the City Clerk

December 6, 2023