Waltham City Council Minutes of Municipal Inauguration on January 7, 2024

As stated in the City Charter the Municipal Inauguration began at 1:00 p.m. Sunday, January 7, 2024.

Mayor -Elect Jeannette A. McCarthy, City Councillors-Elect and School Committee Members-Elect entered the Chamber with the Police and Fire Honor Guard, Lieutenant Governor Kim Driscoll and the Honorable Ellen M. Caulo.

Troop 250 Waltham Boy Scouts lead the Pledge of Allegiance.

Patricia Bellini sang the National Anthem

Assistant City Clerk Kara Wilson read the names of the people elected at the Municipal Election on November 7, 2023:

Mayor

Jeannette Amanda McCarthy

Councillors at Large

Paul J. Brasco Colleen Bradley-McArthur Randall J. LeBlanc Kathleen B. McMenimen Thomas M. Stanley Carlos A. Vidal

Ward Councillors

Anthony LaFauci Councillor Ward One Caren Dunn Councillor Ward Two William A. Hanley Councillor Ward Three John J. McLaughlin Councillor Ward Four Joseph P. LaCava Councillor Ward Five Sean T. Durkee Councillor Ward Six Paul Katz Councillor Ward Seven Cathyann Harris Councillor Ward Eight Robert G. Logan Councillor Ward Nine

School Committee

Margaret M. Donnelly Edmund Tarallo James Zanghi The Honorable Ellen M. Caulo, Justice of the Massachusetts Superior Court administered the oath of office to the Mayor, City Councillors and School Committee members.

Lily Massa performed God Bless America.

Lieutenant Governor Kim Driscoll offered remarks.

School Committee Member John Frassica offered remarks on behalf of the School Committee.

Councillor Kathleen B. McMenimen offered remarks on behalf of the City Council and introduced Mayor McCarthy.

Mayor McCarthy spoke.

Clerk Vizard declared the meeting to be in recess until 1:40 p.m.

Clerk Vizard called the meeting back to order at 1:40 p.m.

Assistant Clerk Kara Wilson called the roll of the Council

Present: Councillors Bradley-MacArthur, Brasco, Dunn, Durkee, Hanley, Harris, Katz, LaCava,

LaFauci, LeBlanc, Logan, McLaughlin, McMenimen, Stanley and Vidal.

Absent: None.

Assistant City Clerk Wilson recited the Council Prayer. City Clerk Vizard followed by leading all present in the Pledge of Allegiance.

Clerk Vizard opened up nominations for City Council President. Councillor LaCava rose to nominate John J. McLaughlin. Councillors Dunn and Harris spoke in favor of nominating Councillor McLaughlin. Councillor Brasco made a motion to close nominations. The motion was approved by a voice vote. The City Councils vote was required for the confirmation. Assistant Clerk Wilson called the roll.

Colleen Bradley-MacArthur: John J. McLaughlin

Paul J. Brasco: John J. McLaughlin Caren Dunn: John J. McLaughlin Sean T. Durkee: John J. McLaughlin

William A. Hanley: John J. McLaughlin Cathyann Harris: John J. McLaughlin

Paul S. Katz: John J. McLaughlin Joseph P. LaCava: John J. McLaughlin Anthony LaFauci: John J. McLaughlin Randy J. LeBlanc: John J. McLaughlin Robert G. Logan: John J. McLaughlin John J. McLaughlin: John J. McLaughlin Kathleen B. McMenimen: John J. McLaughlin

Thomas M. Stanley: John J. McLaughlin Carlos A. Vidal: John J. McLaughlin

With 15 votes John J. McLaughlin was voted as the President of the City Council for 2024.

Councillor McLaughlin spoke to the Council. He thanked Councillor McMenimen for her role as President.

With no further matters Councillor Hanley moved to adjourn. The motion was approved by a voice vote. President McLaughlin declared the meeting adjourned at 1:52 p.m.

Respectfully submitted by: Cathy Magliarditi Executive Assistant to the City Clerk January 17, 2024